Image is not available
Image is not available
Image is not available
Image is not available

New Promotions

Our Gourmet Tinned Fish

Our Best Sellers Last Month

About Portugal’s Wine Regions

Portuguese wine regions are grouped into three levels of classification.

  • Denominação de Origem Controlada (or DOCs) are Quality Wines Produced in Specified Regions (QWpsr) under the European Union wine regulations and thus correspond roughly to the French Appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOC) and Spanish Denominación de Origen (DO) classifications.
  • Indicação de Proveniencia Regulamentada (IPRs), and are also QWpsr. IPRs are used for DOC candidates “in training”, and this level roughly corresponds to the French Vin Délimité de Qualité Superieure (VDQS) system.
  • Vinho Regional (VRs) are table wines with a geographical indication under EU regulations. VRs each cover a larger area and are similar to the French Vin de pays at regional/departmental level.

As of 2009, Portugal has 26 DOCs for wine, 4 IPRs and 11 VRs.


Final Logo HRes

Sign up to our mailing list!

Receive a 5% voucher from us!

Please check your email to confirm your subscription.